top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStacey Pierson

5 TIPS TO GET INSPIRED

We all have those days when nothing is happening. Or we sit in front of the computer screen, twirl in the chair, tap the pen repeatedly or even play nerf basketball (maybe that's just me). Whatever we do, the inspiration just doesn't happen. I have 5 tips that work for me when I need the flow.

  1. GET IN CHARACTER. I am serious as can be. We write them. Give them personality, charm, and devious ideas. So, act out your scene in that chapter. Become that character. Note always have a notebook or record it. Why? When you get into it, you might forget what you say or rather what your characters say.

  2. INVOLVE FAMILY AND FRIENDS. There's nothing like hearing fresh voices. Tell your family and friends what you're having a problem with. Whether they are writers or not, they still have an idea of what they want or need to read nowadays. They could have ideas you never thought of. Listen to them. They know a lot.

  3. EXERCISE. I know. I know. The thought of actually leaving your screen is a scary thought. You might not come back to work. But wait! Get up, move, stretch, and get out of the house. Go for a run, hike, or go for a bike ride with your kids or friends. Before you know it you will have not only had some fun, and gotten fit, but you could have had some chapter ideas flash in your mind.

  4. READ AND WATCH YOUR GENRE. Have a readfest or binge a tv show and movies. The authors or filmmakers who inspired you to become a writer are the ones whom you should turn to. Then let their inspiration rush through you like a shiver down your spine. And get to work.

  5. LOOK AT PICTURES ON SITES. One of my favorites is Pinterest. They have so many story ideas and spark new ones as well. A simple search for tropes, story inspiration, and so much more. You never know what will stick out to you. One thing I do when looking for something, if I keep seeing the same picture more than three times, it's usually a hint of an idea that is in the back of my mind. Give it a shoot.

  6. TALK TO OTHER WRITERS/READERS!!! I personally think this is an essential part of becoming or being a writer. Weare constantly writing whether its physically or mentally. Also, we are always editing the same way. We know how it do what we do. There are several ways to do it: social media which has fantastic communities such as #WritingCommunity, #ReadingCommunity, and #ScreenplayWriters just to name a few. You will find critical partners (CP), beta readers (BR), and editors. Plus, you'll make lasting friendships. Join them if you haven't.


Never be afraid to dive headfirst and immerse yourself. In the end, you will find the inspiration you have been looking for once again.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIDS CHOICE - KIDLIT WRITING CONTEST 2024

This is my first time participating and I am excited. I wanted to share my entry with all of you. My 500 word young adult entry is my paranormal horror romance, The Sharpening. The Sharpening Gasping,

A CHANCE TO REVAMP YOUR QUERY

With agents and publishers getting ready to close or already have closed down queries for November and December, this is the time to revamp your query. I know. I know, no one wants to hear this. But i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page