top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStacey Pierson

KIDS CHOICE - KIDLIT WRITING CONTEST 2024

This is my first time participating and I am excited.

I wanted to share my entry with all of you.

My 500 word young adult entry is my paranormal horror romance, The Sharpening.



The Sharpening

Gasping, I wrap my hand around the piece of glass. If I can move it, slide it, do something with it. Releasing the pressure would be a relief. I need it. I can do this. I can do this. Its ridged edges dig into my hand and slowly slice into my skin, and tiny pieces of the windshield break off. I wince as I pull it out.

Breathing hard, my hand falls, and the glass clinks. I know I am bleeding out of the wound, but at least the pressure was gone. Each time my chest rises, a whistle comes out. The whole world is spinning faster. I’m getting sleepy. Very sleepy.

Lying on my back, unable to move, I look at the velvet cloak sky and stars. The stars are beautiful. Sparkling, with silver and golden tones. When we were little, we loved camping in the backyard.

We would stare at the sky trying to count as many stars as we possibly could. Counting and recounting because we lost our place. We never finished before the sun rose. Some look like they are winking at me. Seth?

“One, two, three, four, five….” I counted as everything faded.

My chest is slowing down. Somethings wrong. I am…I am… This is what I have been waiting for. Reggie? Where’s Reggie? My body is so weak that I barely keep my eyes open as the colors around me grow darker as they flutter like a butterfly trapped in a spider web floating in the colors of silvery blue. Reaching out to touch it, it wraps around my fingers hugging them, inching its way up my hand, then designating into millions of little pieces.

I remember hearing stories about people on the brink of death passing through a tunnel. A warm light beaming all around them, coming from every direction, and how inviting it is. As if watching a movie, memories they couldn't possibly remember flash before their eyes. But it's all a lie.

“My poor little twin,” a male’s voice says, deep and bitter.

It's him. The guy in my rearview mirror, and the voice I heard at the Peak. Every part of me is numb, and his chuckle is dark and sinister. A single tear escapes and lands on the pavement as ice. Am I moving? Ripples rupture underneath me, and I float on a bed of black rose petals. Sunflowers emerge on either side of me, then wilt, turning rare and rotten into black vines with barbed thorns. They stretch and wrap around my waist, chest, and neck.

“Alone again. Let’s fix that,” a male’s voice, growls.

Long and curved, the vines tighten and constrict my breathing as they burrow inside and expand throughout my body. The pain is unbearable and stiff as it shrivels my veins to nothingness and splits my bones; poisoning me as they lay their fingers around my head and seal my mouth. No! Stop!

“See ya later, alligator,” the male, snickers.

I sink.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A CHANCE TO REVAMP YOUR QUERY

With agents and publishers getting ready to close or already have closed down queries for November and December, this is the time to revamp your query. I know. I know, no one wants to hear this. But i

5 TIPS TO GET INSPIRED

We all have those days when nothing is happening. Or we sit in front of the computer screen, twirl in the chair, tap the pen repeatedly or even play nerf basketball (maybe that's just me). Whatever we

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page